2009 Sidewise Award Nominees

This year’s Sidewise Awards for Alternate History nominees have been announced:

Short Form
“Yes, We Have No Bananas”, Paul Di Filippo (Eclipse 3)
“The Fixation”, Alastair Reynolds (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction: Volume Three)
“Edison’s Frankenstein”, Chris Roberson (Postscripts 20/21)
“Black Swan”, Bruce Sterling (Interzone #221)
“The Persistence of Souls,” Sarah Zettel (The Shadow Conspiracy)

Long Form
1942, Robert Conroy (Ballantine)

The judges note that though there is only one nominee in the Long Form category, No Award is also an option.

The panel of judges includes Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver. Winners will be announced at ReConStruction, the 10th NASFiC, to be held August 5-8, 2010, in Raleigh NC.