2009 Bram Stoker Awards Winners

The 2009 Stoker Awards winners have been announced.

Superior Achievement in a Novel:

  • Audrey’s Door, Sarah Langan (Harper)
  • Patient Zero, Jonathan Maberry (St. Martin’s Griffin)
  • Quarantined, Joe McKinney (Lachesis)
  • Cursed, Jeremy Shipp (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Damnable, Hank Schwaeble (Jove)
  • Breathers, S. G. Browne (Broadway Books)
  • Solomon’s Grave, Daniel G. Keohane (Dragon Moon Press)
  • The Little Sleep, Paul Tremblay (Henry Holt)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

  • The Lucid Dreaming, Lisa Morton (Bad Moon)
  • Dreaming Robot Monster, Mort Castle (Mighty Unclean)
  • The Hunger of Empty Vessels, Scott Edelman (Bad Moon)
  • Doc Good’s Traveling Show, Gene O’Neill (Bad Moon)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • “In the Porches of My Ears”, Norman Prentiss (Postscripts 18)
  • “Keeping Watch”, Nate Kenyon (Monstrous: 20 Tales of Giant Creature Terror)
  • “The Crossing of Aldo Ray”, Weston Ochse (The Dead That Walk)
  • “The Night Nurse”, Harry Shannon (Horror Drive-In 7/09)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • He Is Legend: An Anthology Celebrating Richard Matheson, Christopher Conlon, ed. (Gauntlet)
  • Lovecraft Unbound, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Dark Horse)
  • Poe, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Solaris)
  • Midnight Walk, Lisa Morton, ed. (Dark House)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

  • A Taste of Tenderloin, Gene O’Neill (Apex)
  • Martyrs and Monsters, Robert Dunbar (DarkHart)
  • Got to Kill Them All and Other Stories, Dennis Etchison (Cemetery Dance)
  • In the Closet, Under the Bed, Lee Thomas (Dark Scribe)

Superior Achievement in Non-fiction

  • Writers Workshop of Horror, Michael Knost (Woodland)
  • Cinema Knife Fight, L.L. Soares & Michael Arruda (Fearzone)
  • The Stephen King Illustrated Companion, Bev Vincent (Fall River)
  • Stephen King: The Non-Fiction, Rocky Wood & Justin Brook (Cemetery Dance)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Chimeric Machines, Lucy A. Snyder (Creative Guy)
  • Double Visions, Bruce Boston (Dark Regions)
  • North Left of Earth, Bruce Boston (Sam’s Dot)
  • Barfodder, Rain Graves (Cemetery Dance)

Tanith Lee and James Herbert are this year’s Grand Masters.

Brian Lumley and William F. Nolan received Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Horror Writers Association, and Basil Copper received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the World Horror Convention.

Tartarus Press, headed by Ray Russell and Rosalie Parker, is the winner of the Specialty Press Award. Vince Liaguno is the winner of the Richard Layman President’s Award, and Kathy Ptacek won the Silver Hammer Award for her HWA volunteer work.

Winners were announced at the World Horror Convention, March 25-28 2010, in Brighton, England. The Horror Writers Association has stated that new categories will be added to the Stoker list: Screenplay, Young Adult, and Graphic Novel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *