2009 Nebula Awards Nominations

The 2009 Nebula Awards nominees have been announced:


  • The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade)
  • The Love We Share Without Knowing, Christopher Barzak (Bantam)
  • Flesh and Fire, Laura Anne Gilman (Pocket)
  • The City & The City, China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan UK)
  • Boneshaker, Cherie Priest (Tor)
  • Finch, Jeff VanderMeer (Underland)


  • The Women of Nell Gwynne’s, Kage Baker (Subterranean)
  • “Arkfall”, Carolyn Ives Gilman (F&SF 9/08)
  • “Act One”, Nancy Kress (Asimov’s 3/09)
  • Shambling Towards Hiroshima, James Morrow (Tachyon)
  • “Sublimation Angels”, Jason Sanford (Interzone 9-10/09)
  • The God Engines, John Scalzi (Subterranean)


  • “The Gambler”, Paolo Bacigalupi (Fast Forward 2)
  • “Vinegar Peace, or, the Wrong-Way Used-Adult Orphanage”, Michael Bishop (Asimov’s 7/08)
  • “I Needs Must Part, the Policeman Said”, Richard Bowes (F&SF 12/09)
  • “Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast”, Eugie Foster (Interzone 2/09)
  • “Divining Light”, Ted Kosmatka (Asimov’s 8/08)
  • “A Memory of Wind”, Rachel Swirsky (Tor.com 11/09)

Short Story

  • “Hooves and the Hovel of Abdel Jameela”, Saladin Ahmed (Clockwork Phoenix 2)
  • “I Remember the Future”, Michael A. Burstein (I Remember the Future)
  • “Non-Zero Probabilities”, N.K. Jemisin (Clarkesworld 9/09)
  • “Spar”, Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld 10/09)
  • “Going Deep”, James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s 6/09)
  • “Bridesicle”, Will McIntosh (Asimov’s 1/09)

Ray Bradbury Award

  • Star Trek, J.J. Abrams (Paramount)
  • District 9, Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell (Tri-Star)
  • Avatar, James Cameron (Fox)
  • Moon, Duncan Jones and Nathan Parker (Sony)
  • Up, Bob Peterson and Pete Docter (Disney/Pixar)
  • Coraline, Henry Selick (Laika/Focus)

Andre Norton Award

  • Hotel Under the Sand, Kage Baker (Tachyon)
  • Ice, Sarah Beth Durst (McElderry)
  • Ash, Malinda Lo (Little, Brown)
  • Eyes Like Stars, Lisa Mantchev (Feiwel & Friends)
  • Zoe’s Tale, John Scalzi (Tor)
  • When You Reach Me, Rebecca Stead (Wendy Lamb)
  • Leviathan, Scott Westerfeld (Simon Pulse; Simon & Schuster UK)

Final ballots are due March 30, 2010 (only active SFWA members are eligible to vote). Winners will be announced at the 2010 SFWA Nebula Awards Weekend, to be held May 13-16, 2010 in Cocoa Beach, FL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *