Carl Brandon Award Winners

Winners of the 2006 and 2007 Carl Brandon Society Awards have been announced.

2006 Carl Brandon Parallax Award

  • Mindscape, Andrea Hairston (Aqueduct)

2007 Carl Brandon Parallax Award

  • The Shadow Speaker, Nnedi Okorafor (Hyperion)

2007 Carl Brandon Kindred Award

  • From the Notebooks of Doctor Brain, Minister Faust (Del Rey)

No work will receive the 2006 Carl Brandon Kindred Award.

The Carl Brandon Parallax Award is given to works of speculative fiction created by a self-identified person of color, and includes a $1000 cash prize. The Carl Brandon Kindred Award is given to any work of speculative fiction dealing with issues of race and ethnicity, and includes a $1000 cash prize; nominees may be of any racial or ethnic group.

According to Candra Gill, member of the Carl Brandon Society Steering Committee, the 2006 award was delayed for administrative reasons. The Society plans to present the 2008 and 2009 awards in the coming year, and nominations for the 2009 Carl Brandon Society Awards are now open to the public.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony at Arisia, to be held January 15-18, 2010 in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *