2009 British Fantasy Awards Winners

The winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2009 are:

Best Novel (The August Derleth Fantasy Award)

  • Memoirs of a Master Forger, William Heaney/Graham Joyce (Gollancz)
  • Midnight Man, Simon Clark (Severn House)
  • Rain Dogs, Gary McMahon (Humdrumming)
  • The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman (Bloomsbury)
  • The Victoria Vanishes, Christopher Fowler (Little, Brown)
  • Thieving Fear, Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)

Best Novella

  • The Reach of Children, Tim Lebbon (Humdrumming)
  • Cold Stone Calling, Simon Clark (Tasmaniac Publications)
  • Gunpowder, Joe Hill (PS Publishing)
  • “Heads”, Gary McMahon (We Fade To Grey)
  • “The Narrows”, Simon Bestwick (We Fade To Grey)

Best Short Fiction

  • “Do You See”, Sarah Pinborough (Myth-Understandings)
  • “All Mouth”, Paul Meloy (Black Static 6)
  • “N”, Stephen King (Just After Sunset)
  • “Pinholes in Black Muslin”, Simon Strantzas (The Second Humdrumming Book of Horror)
  • “The Caul Bearer”, Allyson Bird (Bull Running For Girls)
  • “The Tobacconist’s Concession”, John Travis (The Second Humdrumming Book of Horror)
  • “The Vague”, Paul Meloy (Islington Crocodiles)
  • “Winter Journey”, Joel Lane (Black Static 5)

Best Collection

  • Bull Running for Girls, Allyson Bird (Screaming Dreams)
  • Glyphotech, Mark Samuels (PS Publishing)
  • How To Make Monsters, Gary McMahon (Morrigan Books)
  • Islington Crocodiles, Paul Meloy (TTA Press)
  • Just After Sunset, Stephen King (Hodder & Stoughton)

Best Anthology

  • The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 19, Stephen Jones, ed. (Constable & Robinson)
  • Cone Zero, DF Lewis, ed. (Megazanthus Press)
  • Myth-Understandings, Ian Whates, ed. (Newcon Press)
  • Subtle Edens, Allen Ashley, ed. (Elastic Press)
  • The Second Humdrumming Book of Horror, Ian Alexander Martin, ed. (Humdrumming)
  • We Fade To Grey, Gary McMahon (Pendragon Press)

Best Artist

  • Vincent Chong for various
  • Dave McKean for The Graveyard Book (Bloomsbury)
  • Edward Miller for Vault of Deeds (PS Publishing)
  • Lee Thompson for The Land at the End of the Working Day (Humdrumming)
  • Les Edwards for various

The PS Publishing Best Small Press Award

  • Elastic Press (Andrew Hook)
  • Newcon Press (Ian Whates)
  • Pendragon Press (Chris Teague)
  • Screaming Dreams (Steve Upham)
  • TTA Press (Andy Cox)

Best Non-Fiction

  • Basil Copper: A Life in Books, Stephen Jones, ed. (PS Publishing)
  • Doctor Who: The Writer’s Tale, Russell T. Davies & Benjamin Cook (BBC Books)
  • journal.neilgaiman.com, Neil Gaiman
  • “Mutant Popcorn” column, Nick Lowe (Interzone)
  • What Is It We Do When We Read Science Fiction, Paul Kincaid (Beccon Publications)

Best Magazine

  • Postscripts, Peter Crowther & Nick Gevers, eds.
  • Black Static, Andy Cox, ed.
  • Interzone, Andy Cox, et. al., eds.
  • Midnight Street, Trevor Denyer, ed.
  • SFX, Dave Bradley, ed.

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Locke and Key, Joe Hill & Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW Publishing);
  • 30 Days of Night: Beyond Barrow, Steve Niles & Bill Sienkiewicz (IDW Publishing);
  • All-Star Superman, Grant Morrison & Frank Quitely (DC Comics);
  • Buffy, Season Eight, Vol. 3: Wolves at the Gate, Joss Whedon & Drew Goddard and Georges Jeanty (Dark Horse Comics);
  • Comic Book Tattoo: Tales Inspired by Tori Amos, Rantz A. Hoseley & Tori Amos, eds. (Image Comics);
  • Hellblazer: Fear Machine, Jamie Delano (Vertigo);
  • Hellblazer: The Laughing Magician, Andy Diggle & Leonardo Manco and Daniel Zezelj(Vertigo);
  • The Girly Comic Book 1, Selina Lock, ed. (Factor Fiction);
  • The New Avengers: Illuminati, Brian Bendis & Brian Reed and Jim Cheung (Marvel Comics).

The Sydney J. Bounds Award for Best Newcomer
Joseph D’Lacey, for Meat (Bloody Books)

The Karl Edward Wagner Award (the Special Award)
Hayao Miyazaki

The BFS Short Story Competition 2009 results were also announced at the ceremony:

  • Winner:“Dead Astronauts”, Patrick Whittaker
  • Runner-up: “In the Moment”, Elana Gomel

There were also winners in film and television categories. Winners were chosen by members of the British Fantasy Society, and were announced at FantasyCon, September 18-20, 2009 in Nottingham. For more details: http://www.britishfantasysociety.org.uk/.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *