2009 Eisner Awards Winners

The 2009 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards were announced at the San Diego Comic-Con. Awards of interest to science fiction and fantasy fans follow:

  • Best Limited Series: Hellboy: The Crooked Man by Mike Mignola and Richard Corben (Dark Horse)
  • Best Webcomic: Finder by Carla Speed McNeil (www.shadowlinecomics.com/webcomics/#/finder/)
  • Best Graphic Album—Reprint: Hellboy Library Edition, vols. 1 and 2, by Mike Mignola (Dark Horse)
  • Best Writer: Bill Willingham, for Fables and House of Mystery (Vertigo/DC)
  • Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team: Guy Davis for BPRD (Dark Horse)
  • Best Cover Artist: James Jean for Fables (Vertigo/DC) and The Umbrella Academy (Dark Horse)
  • Best Coloring: Dave Stewart for Abe Sapien: The Drowning, BPRD, The Goon, Hellboy, Solomon Kane, and The Umbrella Academy(Dark Horse), as well as Body Bags (Image) and Captain America: White (Marvel)
  • Best Publication Design: Hellboy Library Editions designed by Cary Grazzini and Mike Mignola (Dark Horse)
  • Hall of Fame inductees (chosen by this year’s judges): Harold Gray, Graham Ingels
  • Hall of Fame inductees (chosen by the voters): Matt Baker, Reed Crandall, Russ Heath, Jerry Iger

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *