Sunburst Award Finalists

Finalists for the 2009 Sunburst Award, given to the best novel-length Canadian literature of the fantastic, have been announced.

Adult Novel:

  • Night Child, Jes Battis (Ace)
  • The Gargoyle, Andrew Davidson (Random House Canada)
  • The Alchemist’s Code, Dave Duncan (Ace)
  • Things Go Flying, Shari Lapeña (Brindle & Glass)
  • Half a Crown, Jo Walton (Tor)

Young-Adult Novel:

  • The Summoning, Kelley Armstrong (Doubleday Canada)
  • Dingo, Charles de Lint (Viking)
  • Little Brother, Cory Doctorow (Tor)
  • Wild Talent, Eileen Kernaghan (Thistledown Press)
  • Night Runner, Max Turner (HarperTrophy)

The winners will be announced in September 2009. Each will receive a cash prize of C$1000 and a hand-crafted “Sunburst” medallion.

The 2009 jurors are Barbara Berson, John Dupuis, Ed Greenwood, Sandra Kasturi, and Simon Rose. For more details, including lists of Honourable Mentions for both categories, see

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *