Ditmar Award Winners

The 2009 Ditmar Awards, Australia’s annual SF achievement awards for work produced in 2008, were presented at Conjecture, the 48th Australian national SF convention, June 5-8, 2009 in Adelaide. The winners are:

Novel: Tender Morsels, Margo Lanagan (Allen & Unwin; Knopf).

Novella: “Painlessness”, Kirstyn McDermott (Greatest Uncommon Denominator #2).

Short Story (tie): “The Goosle”, Margo Lanagan (The Del Rey Book of Science Fiction & Fantasy); “This Is Not My Story”, Dirk Flinthart (Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine #37).

Collected Work: Dreaming Again, Jack Dann, ed. (Voyager Australia; Eos).

Best Professional Artwork: Shaun Tan for Tales from Outer Suburbia (Allen & Unwin; Scholastic ’09).

Best New Talent: Felicity Dowker.

William Atheling Jr. Award: Kim Wilkins for “Popular Genres and the Australian Literary Community: The Case of Fantasy Fiction (Journal of Australian Studies).

Peter McNamara Award: Sean Williams.

Best Professional Achievement: Angela Challis, for Black, the Australian Dark Culture Magazine.

Best Fan Publication: Asif! , Alisa Krasnostein & Gene Melzack, eds. (Twelfth Planet Press)

Best Fan Artist: Cat Sparks for Scary Food Cookbook (Agog! Press).

Best Fan Writer: Rob Hood for Undead Backbrain (Twelfth Planet Press).

A. Bertram Chandler Award: Rosaleen Love.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *