Sturgeon Award Finalists

Finalists for the 2009 Sturgeon Awards have been announced:

“The Gambler”, Paolo Bacigalupi (Fast Forward 2)
“The Political Prisoner”, Charles Coleman Finlay (F&SF 8/08)
“True Names”, Cory Doctorow & Benjamin Rosenbaum (Fast Forward 2)
“The Ray Gun: A Love Story”, James Alan Gardner (Asimov’s 2/08)
“Memory Dog”, Kathleen Ann Goonan (Asimov’s 4-5/08)
“The Tear”, Ian McDonald (Galactic Empires)
“Special Economics”, Maureen McHugh (The Del Rey Book of Science Fiction and Fantasy)
“His Master’s Voice”, Hannu Rajaniemi (Interzone #218)
“From Babel’s Fall’n Glory We Fled”, Michael Swanwick (Asimov’s 2/08).

Kij Johnson’s “26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss” (Asimov’s 7/08) was a finalist, but Johnson removed it from consideration because she is a juror. The awards will be presented at a banquet July 10, 2009, held during the Campbell Conference in Lawrence KS, from July 9-12. For more information visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *