Sidewise Award Nominees

Finalists for the 2008 Sidewise Awards for excellence in alternate history have been announced:


  • The Affinity Bridge, George Mann (Snowbooks; Tor ’09)
  • The Dragon’s Nine Sons, Chris Roberson (Solaris)
  • Half a Crown, Jo Walton (Tor)
  • Nation, Terry Pratchett (Doubleday UK; HarperCollins)
  • Swiftly, Adam Roberts (Gollancz)


  • “A Brief Guide to Other Histories”, Paul J. McAuley (Postscripts #15)
  • “G-Men,” Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Sideways in Crime)
  • “Night Bird Soaring,” T.L. Morganfield (Greatest Uncommon Denominator Autumn ’08)
  • “The People’s Machine”, Tobias Buckell (Sideways in Crime)
  • “Poison Victory”, Albert E. Cowdrey (F&SF 07/08)
  • “Sacrifice”, Mary Rosenblum (Sideways in Crime)

The awards will be presented at Anticipation, the 67th Worldcon, to be held in Montreal, Canada from August 6-10, 2009. The judges are Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stuart Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver. For more see the Sidewise Award website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *