Shirley Jackson Awards Ballot Announced

The Shirley Jackson Awards will be presented on Sunday, July 12th 2009, at Readercon 20, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Burlington, Massachusetts. Guest of honor Elizabeth Hand, whose Generation Loss won the 2007 Shirley Jackson Award for Best Novel, will emcee.


  • Alive in Necropolis, Doug Dorst (Riverhead Hardcover)
  • The Man on the Ceiling, Steve Rasnic Tem and Melanie Tem (Wizards of the Coast Discoveries)
  • Pandemonium, Daryl Gregory (Del Rey)
  • The Resurrectionist, Jack O’Connell (Algonquin Books)
  • The Shadow Year, Jeffrey Ford (William Morrow)
  • Tender Morsels, Margo Lanagan (Knopf)


  • Disquiet, Julia Leigh (Penguin/Hamish Hamilton)
  • “Dormitory,” Yoko Ogawa (The Diving Pool)
  • Living With the Dead, Darrell Schweitzer (PS Publishing)
  • The Long Trial of Nolan Dugatti, Stephen Graham Jones (Chiasmus)
  • “N.”, Stephen King (Just After Sunset)


  • “Hunger Moon”, Deborah Noyes (The Ghosts of Kerfol)
  • “The Lagerstatte”, Laird Barron (The Del Rey Book of Science Fiction and Fantasy)
  • “Penguins of the Apocalypse”, William Browning Spencer (Subterranean: Tales of Dark Fantasy)
  • “Pride and Prometheus”, John Kessel (F&SF, January 2008)
  • The Situation, Jeff Vandermeer (PS Publishing)


  • “68° 07’ 15″N, 31° 36’ 44″W”, Conrad Williams (Fast Ships, Black Sails)
  • “The Dinner Party”, Joshua Ferris (The New Yorker, August 11, 2008)
  • “Evidence of Love in a Case of Abandonment: One Daughter’s Personal Account”, M. Rickert (F&SF, Oct/Nov 2008)
  • “The Inner City”, Karen Heuler (Cemetery Dance #58)
  • “Intertropical Convergence Zone”, Nadia Bulkin (ChiZine, Issue 37)
  • “The Pile”, Michael Bishop (Subterranean Online, Winter 2008)


  • A Better Angel, Chris Adrian (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)
  • Dangerous Laughter, Steven Millhauser (Knopf)
  • The Diving Pool, Yoko Ogawa (Picador)
  • The Girl on the Fridge, Etgar Keret (Farrar, Straus, and Giroux)
  • Just After Sunset, Stephen King (Scribner)
  • Wild Nights!, Joyce Carol Oates (Ecco)


  • Bound for Evil, edited by Tom English (Dead Letter)
  • Exotic Gothic 2: New Tales of Taboo, edited by Danel Olson (Ash-Tree)
  • Fast Ships, Black Sails, edited by Ann & Jeff Vandermeer (Night Shade)
  • The New Uncanny, edited by Sarah Eyre & Ra Page (Comma)
  • Shades of Darkness, edited by Barbara & Christopher Roden (Ash-Tree)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *