Prix Aurora Awards Ballot Announced

The 2009 Prix Aurora Awards final ballot has been announced, and voting will take place through July 15, 2009. The awards, given out annually for the best Canadian science fiction and fantasy literary works, art works, and fan achievement, will be presented at Anticipation, the 67th World Science Fiction Convention, held August 6-10, 2009, in Montreal, Quebec.

This year’s nominees are:

Best Long-Form Work in English:
After the Fires, Ursula Pflug (Tightrope)
Identity Theft: And Other Stories, Robert J. Sawyer (Red Deer)
Impossibilia, Douglas Smith (PS Publishing)
Defining Diana, Hayden Trenholm (Bundoran)
Marseguro (Daw Science Fiction), Edward Willett (DAW)

Best Long-Form Work in French:
Une fêlure au flanc du monde, Éric Gauthier (Alire)
Les vents de Tammerlan, Michèle Laframboise (Éditions Médiaspaul, coll. Jeunesse-Plus)

Best Short-Form Work in English:
“All In”, Peter Atwood (Weird Tales May/Jun 2008)
“Back”, Susan J. Forest (Analog Jun 2008)
“Ringing in the Changes in Okotoks, Alberta”, Randy McCharles (Tesseracts TwelveLocus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy)
“Doorways”, Douglas Smith (Postscripts #17)
“A Bouquet of Flowers in a Vase by Van Gogh”, Douglas Smith (Impossibilia)

Best Short-Form Work in French:
“Jos Montferrand et le Grand Brigand des routes”, Alain Ducharme (Solaris 161)
“Ballade sur Pallide”, Michèle Laframboise (Virages 44)
“La révolte des gilets-malins”, Michèle Laframboise (QUAD9 6A)
“Le Dôme de Saint-Macaire”, Jean-Louis Trudel (Solaris 167)

Best Work in English (Other):
Gaslight Grimoire: Fantastic Tales of Sherlock Holmes, Jeff Campbell & Charles Prepolec, eds. (Edge)
Neo-opsis, Karl Johanson, ed.
Tesseracts Twelve, Claude Lalumière, ed. (Edge)
Through the Window: A Journey to the Borderlands of Faerie, Marcie Lynn Tentchoff (Double Edge)
On Spec, Diane Walton, ed.

Best Work in French (Other):
Jean-Louis Trudel, Sophie Beaulé (Éditions David)
Solaris, Joël Champetier, ed.

Artistic Achievement:
Looking for Group, Lar deSouza (online comic)
Cover of Neo-Opsis #14, Stephanie Ann Johanson
“Imagination”, Michèle Laframboise (from Imagination contre les pigeons spammers, Vermillion)
Fear Agent #22, Ronn Sutton (Dark Horse)
Cover of JEMMA7729, David Willicome

Fan Achievement (Fanzine):
The Original Universe, Jeff Boman, ed.
Opuntia, Dale Spiers, ed.
Clair/Obscur, François-Bernard Tremblay, ed.
Brins d’éternité, Guillaume Voisine, ed.

Fan Achievement (Organizational):
Robyn Herrington Memorial Short Story Contest, Renée Bennett (Administrator)
World Fantasy 2008, Kim Greyson (Guest Liaison)
FilKONtario 19, Judith Hayman & Peggi Warner-Lalonde (Co-chairs)
World Fantasy 2008, Randy McCharles (Chair)
Anime North 2008, David Simmons (Organizer)

Fan Achievement (Other):
World Fantasy 2008 Podcasts, Kurt Armbruster & Ryah Deines (Producers/Ed./Hosts)
Impulse, news bulletin of MonSFFA, Keith Braithwaite (Editor)
Through the Keyhole—25 years of Keycon Memories, Jennifer Ennis (Editor)
Fan Writing, Lloyd Penney
Heather Dale Concert, Joan Sherman (Organizer)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *