SFWA Announces Inaugural Solstice Awards

SFWA President Russell Davis announced that Kate Wilhelm, Martin H. Greenberg, and the late Algis Budrys are the recipients of the inaugural Solstice Awards in 2009. The award, created in 2008 and given at the discretion of the SFWA president with the majority approval of the Board of Directors, is for individuals who have had “a significant impact on the science fiction or fantasy landscape, and is particularly intended for those who have consistently made a major, positive difference within the speculative fiction field.”

The Solstice Awards will be presented during the Nebula Awards Weekend in Los Angeles CA, April 24-26, 2009. Janis Ian will be toastmistress for the ceremony. Harry Harrison will also be honored as Damon Knight Grand Master, M.J. Engh as Author Emerita, and Victoria Strauss will receive the SFWA Service Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *