Dick Award Judges Announced

Judges for the 2009 Philip K. Dick Awards, honoring distinguished science fiction published in paperback original format in the United States, have been announced:

Daniel Abraham
5925 Woodford Dr NE
Albuquerque, NM 87110-1225

Eileen Gunn
525 19th Ave E
Seattle, WA 98112-4006

Karen Hellekson
16 Rolling Rdg
Jay, ME 04239-7038

Elaine Isaak
34 Hardy Road
Bedford, NH 03110-4914

Marc Laidlaw
15510 NE 153rd St.
Woodinville, WA 98072-8125

Publishers who issue eligible titles during the calendar year 2009 are encouraged to provide copies to each of the judges as the books are published during the year. (All works of science fiction published originally in the United States as paperbacks during the year 2009 are eligible.) The nominees will be announced in January 2010.

The Philadelphia Science Fiction Society sponsors the $1,000 cash award, which is administered by David G. Hartwell and Gordon Van Gelder. The prize – a cash award of $1,000, a plaque, and a free trip to Norwescon – is given annually at sponsoring convention Norwescon (the Northwest Science Fiction Society). The 2008 awards will be presented on April 10, 2009. For more information: http://www.philipkdickaward.org/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *