Locus Online
Sunday 12 August 2007

World Fantasy Awards Nominations

Nominations for this year's World Fantasy Awards, for works published in 2006, have been released. Winners will be announced at this year's World Fantasy Convention, to be held 1-4 November 2007 in Saratoga Springs, New York.

Update, 19 August: In a one-time change of procedure, this year's convention has officially announced the winners of the Life Achievement Awards — the winners are Diana Wynne Jones, who will be unable to attend for health reasons, and Betty Ballantine, who will attend.

  • Lisey's Story, Stephen King (Scribner; Hodder & Stoughton)
  • The Privilege of the Sword, Ellen Kushner (Bantam Spectra; Small Beer Press)
  • The Lies of Locke Lamora, Scott Lynch (Gollancz; Bantam Spectra)
  • The Orphan's Tales: In the Night Garden, Catherynne M. Valente (Bantam Spectra)
  • Soldier of Sidon, Gene Wolfe (Tor)
  • "Botch Town", Jeffrey Ford (The Empire of Ice Cream, Golden Gryphon)
  • "The Man Who Got Off the Ghost Train", Kim Newman (The Man from the Diogenes Club, MonkeyBrain)
  • Dark Harvest, Norman Partridge (Cemetery Dance)
  • "Map of Dreams", M. Rickert (Map of Dreams, Golden Gryphon)
  • "The Lineaments of Gratified Desire", Ysabeau S. Wilce (F&SF Jul 2006)
  • "The Way He Does It", Jeffrey Ford (Electric Velocipede #10, Spr 2006)
  • "Journey Into the Kingdom", M. Rickert (F&SF May 2006)
  • "A Siege of Cranes", Benjamin Rosenbaum (Twenty Epics, All-Star Stories)
  • "Another Word for Map is Faith", Christopher Rowe (F&SF Aug 2006)
  • "Pol Pot's Beautiful Daughter (Fantasy)", Geoff Ryman (F&SF Oct/Nov 2006)
  • Cross Plains Universe: Texans Celebrate Robert E. Howard, Scott A. Cupp & Joe R. Lansdale, eds. (MonkeyBrain and the Fandom Association of Central Texas)
  • Salon Fantastique, Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds. (Thunder's Mouth)
  • Retro Pulp Tales, Joe R. Lansdale, ed. (Subterranean)
  • Twenty Epics, David Moles & Susan Marie Groppi, eds. (All-Star Stories)
  • Firebirds Rising, Sharyn November, ed. (Firebird)
  • The Ladies of Grace Adieu and other stories, Susanna Clarke (Bloomsbury)
  • The Empire of Ice Cream, Jeffrey Ford (Golden Gryphon)
  • American Morons, Glen Hirshberg (Earthling)
  • Red Spikes, Margo Lanagan (Allen & Unwin Australia; Knopf)
  • Map of Dreams, M. Rickert (Golden Gryphon)
  • Jon Foster
  • Edward Miller
  • John Picacio
  • Shaun Tan
  • Jill Thompson
  • Ellen Asher (For work at SFBC)
  • Mark Finn (for Blood & Thunder: The Life of Robert E. Howard, MonkeyBrain)
  • Deanna Hoak for copyediting
  • Greg Ketter for DreamHaven
  • Leonard S. Marcus, ed. (for The Wand in the Word: Conversations with Writers of Fantasy, Candlewick)
  • Leslie Howle (for her work at Clarion West)
  • Leo Grin (for The Cimmerian)
  • Susan Marie Groppi (for Strange Horizons)
  • John Klima (for Electric Velocipede)
  • Gary K. Wolfe (for reviews and criticism in Locus and elsewhere)
  • Judges for this year's awards are Gavin Grant, Ed Greenwood, Jeremy Lassen, Jeff Mariotte, and Carsten Polzin. Final ballot nominations are determined through a combination of convention member votes (two items in each category) and judges' selections. Winners will be determined by the judges.

    © 2007 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.