Locus Online

News Archives

E-mail Locus Online

External Links

Links Portal

Tuesday 15 February 2004

Nebula Awards Final Ballot

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have released the final ballot for this year's Nebula Awards. Winners will be announced at a banquet during Nebula Awards Weekend in Chicago at the Allegro Hotel on April 30, 2005.

  • Cloud Atlas, David Mitchell (Random House)
  • Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom, Cory Doctorow (Tor)
  • The Knight, Gene Wolfe (Tor)
  • Omega, Jack McDevitt (Ace)
  • Paladin of Souls, Lois McMaster Bujold (Eos)
  • Perfect Circle, Sean Stewart (Small Beer Press)
  • "The Cookie Monster", Vernor Vinge (Analog Oct 2003)
  • "The Green Leopard Plague", Walter Jon Williams (Asimov's Oct/Nov 2003)
  • "Just Like the Ones We Used to Know", Connie Willis (Asimov's Dec 2003)
  • "The Tangled Strings of the Marionettes", Adam-Troy Castro (F&SF Jul 2003)
  • "Walk in Silence", Catherine Asaro (Analog Apr 2003)
  • "Basement Magic", Ellen Klages (F&SF May 2003)
  • "Dry Bones", William Sanders (Asimov's May 2003)
  • "The Gladiator's War: A Dialogue", Lois Tilton (Asimov's Jun 2004)
  • "The Voluntary State", Christopher Rowe (Sci Fiction 5 May 2004)
  • "Zora and the Zombie", Andy Duncan (Sci Fiction 4 Feb 2004)
  • "Aloha", Ken Wharton (Analog Jun 2003)
  • "Coming to Terms", Eileen Gunn (Stable Strategies and Others)
  • "Embracing-the-New", Benjamin Rosenbaum (Asimov's Jan 2004)
  • "In the Late December", Greg van Eekhout (Strange Horizons 22 Dec 2003)
  • "The Strange Redemption of Sister Mary Anne", Mike Moscoe (Analog Nov 2004)
  • "Travels with My Cats", Mike Resnick (Asimov's Feb 2004)
  • The Butterfly Effect, J. Mackye Gruber & Eric Bress (New Line Cinema)
  • Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Charlie Kaufman & Michel Gondry (Anonymus Content/Focus Features)
  • The Incredibles, Brad Bird (Pixar)
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson (New Line Cinema)
  • The Nebula Awards are voted on and presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. They were first presented in 1966 for works published in 1965. Current eligibility rules allow any particular work to accumulate recommendations from SFWA members for 12 months following publication, with all works receiving the minimum number of recommendations by the end of each year placed on a preliminary ballot and voted to determine final ballot nominees. An effect of this system is that some works do not reach the final ballot until the second year following their original publication; thus this year's ballot includes works from 2003 and 2004. (See SFWA's Nebula Rules for details.) In addition, jurists for each category have the option of adding a nominee to those from the preliminary ballot, an option most juries exercise. (This year's preliminary ballot is posted here.)

    This year's novel nominees include previous winners Lois McMaster Bujold (7 nominations and 2 wins, including novel Falling Free in 1989) and Gene Wolfe (18 total nominations and 2 wins, mostly recently in 1982 for novel The Claw of the Conciliator). Bujold's nominee this year, Paladin of Souls, has already won the Hugo and Locus Awards. Cory Doctorow and Sean Stewart each has one prior Nebula nomination, Doctorow for a novelette and Stewart for 2000 novel Mockingbird. Doctorow's nominated novel Down and Out in the Magic Kingdom won last year's Locus Award for best first novel. Jack McDevitt has received 9 previous Nebula nominations, including 4 nominations for novels, but has never won. His nominee this year, Omega, won last year's John W. Campbell Memorial Award. David Mitchell is a first time Nebula nominee.

    All nominees in the Novella category have been nominated previously. Vernor Vinge has 3 previous Nebula nominations, with no wins. (His nominated story this year, "The Cookie Monster", won the Hugo and Locus Awards last year.) Walter Jon Williams won a Nebula in 2001 for novelette "Daddy's World" and has been nominated 8 other times. Connie Willis has received a total of 13 Nebula nominations and has won 6 times, most recently for short story "Even the Queen" and novel Doomsday Book both in 1993. Catherine Asaro won the Nebula in 2002 for novel The Quantum Rose and has been nominated 3 other times. Adam-Troy Castro has received 4 previous Nebula nominations, with no wins. All of this year's nominated novellas were published in 2003.

    Novelette contenders Lois Tilton and Christopher Rowe are first-time Nebula nominees. Ellen Klages has received 2 earlier nominations, William Sanders 1, and Andy Duncan 4. None has ever won.

    Short story nominee Mike Resnick has been nominated for 10 previous Nebulas, and won in 1995 for novella "Seven Views of Olduvai Gorge". Mike Moscoe has 1 previous nomination, in 2001. The others -- Ken Wharton, Eileen Gunn, Benjamin Rosenbaum, and Greg van Eekhout -- are first-time Nebula nominees.

    The Lord of the Rings scripters won last year and the year before for the first two installments of the film trilogy based on the novels by J.R.R. Tolkien. Charlie Kaufman was nominated in 2001 for Being John Malkovich. Brad Bird was nominated in 2000 for co-writing The Iron Giant. The others in this category -- J. Mackye Gruber, Eric Bress, and Michel Gondry -- are first-time Nebula nominees.


    2004 SFWA Nebula Awards Final Ballot

    Locus Index to SF Awards
      Nebula Awards
        Past winners by Year
        Past finalists and winners

    © 2005 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.