Locus Online

2004 News Archive

E-mail Locus Online


News Archives

External Links

Links Portal

Friday 6 August 2004

2004 World Fantasy Awards Final Ballot

Nominations for the 2004 World Fantasy Awards, covering the 2003 publishing year, have been announced:

  • The Etched City, K. J. Bishop (Prime Books)
  • Fudoki, Kij Johnson (Tor)
  • The Light Ages, Ian R. MacLeod (Ace)
  • Tooth and Claw, Jo Walton (Tor)
  • Veniss Underground, Jeff VanderMeer (Prime Books)
  • "A Crowd of Bone", Greer Gilman (Trampoline: An Anthology Small Beer Press)
  • "Dancing Men", Glen Hirshberg (The Dark Tor)
  • "The Empire of Ice Cream", Jeffrey Ford (Sci Fiction 02.26.03)
  • "Exorcising Angels", Simon Clark & Tim Lebbon (Exorcising Angels Earthling Publications)
  • "The Hortlak", Kelly Link (The Dark Tor)
  • "Ancestor Money", Maureen F. McHugh (Sci Fiction 10.01.03)
  • Circle of Cats, Charles de Lint (Viking)
  • "Don Ysidro", Bruce Holland Rogers (Polyphony 3 Wheatland)
  • "Gus Dreams of Biting the Mailman", Alex Irvine (Trampoline Small Beer Press)
  • "O One", Chris Roberson (Live Without a Net Roc)
  • The Dark: New Ghost Stories, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
  • Gathering the Bones, Jack Dann, Ramsey Campbell & Dennis Etchison, eds. (Voyager Australia; Voyager UK; Tor US)
  • Strange Tales, Rosalie Parker, ed. (Tartarus Press)
  • The Thackery T. Lambshead Pocket Guide to Eccentric & Discredited Diseases, Jeff VanderMeer & Mark Roberts, eds. (Night Shade Books)
  • Trampoline: An Anthology, Kelly Link, ed. (Small Beer Press)
  • Bibliomancy, Elizabeth Hand (PS Publishing)
  • Ghosts of Yesterday, Jack Cady (Night Shade Books)
  • GRRM: A RRetrospective, George R. R. Martin (Subterranean Press)
  • More Tomorrow & Other Stories, Michael Marshall Smith (Earthling Publications)
  • The Two Sams, Glen Hirshberg (Carroll & Graf)
  • Brom
  • Donato Giancola
  • John Jude Palencar
  • John Picacio
  • Jason Van Hollander
  • Peter Crowther (for PS Publishing)
  • John Howe & Alan Lee (for artwork in The Lord of the Rings)
  • Kelly Link & Gavin Grant (for Small Beer Press)
  • Sharyn November (for Firebird Books)
  • David Pringle (for Interzone/service to the field)
  • Sean Wallace (for Prime Books)
  • Deborah Layne & Jay Lake (for Wheatland Press)
  • Paul Miller (for Earthling Publications)
  • Ray Russell & Rosalie Parker (for Tartarus Press)
  • Dave Truesdale (for Tangent Online)
  • Rodger Turner, Neil Walsh & Wayne MacLaurin (for SF
  • Two nominees in each category are placed on the ballot by reader votes submitted by members of the annual World Fantasy Convention, and the rest of the ballot is completed by a panel of five judges. This year's judges are John Clute, Sherwood Smith, Michael Stackpole, Alain Nevant, and Scott Wyatt. The winners, including one or more winners in the Life Achievement category, whose candidates are not announced in advance, will be selected by the judges and will be announced at the Awards Banquet on Sunday at this year's World Fantasy Convention, to be held October 28-31, 2004, in Tempe, Arizona.


    World Fantasy Awards

    Locus Index to SF Awards
      World Fantasy Awards
        Past winners by Year
        Past finalists and winners

    © 2004 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. | Subscribe to Locus Magazine | E-mail Locus | Privacy | Advertise