Locus Online

2004 News Archive

E-mail Locus Online


News Archives

External Links

Links Portal

Monday 31 May 2004

Sunburst Award Shortlist

The short list for this year's Sunburst Award, an annual prize for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic, has been announced.

  • Blind Lake, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)
  • The Bone House, Luanne Armstrong (New Star Books)
  • Initiation, Virginia Frances Schwartz (Fitzhenry & Whiteside)
  • Oryx and Crake, Margaret Atwood (McClelland and Stewart)
  • A Place So Foreign and 8 More, Cory Doctorow (Four Walls Eight Windows)
  • This is the fourth year the Sunburst Award will be presented. The authors are either Canadian citizens or landed immigrants. The award, consisting of a cash prize of $1000 and a hand-crafted stainless-steel medallion of the Sunburst from a design by Marcel Gagné, and will be presented to the winner in September 2004.

    Jurors for this year are Caterina Edwards, Claude Lalumière, Yves Meynard, Michelle Sagara West, and Lyle Weis.


    Sunburst Award Website

    Locus Index to SF Awards
      Sunburst Awards
        Past winners by Year

    © 2004 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. | Subscribe to Locus Magazine | E-mail Locus | Privacy | Advertise