Locus Online

Hugo Nominations

Retro Hugo Nominations

Nebula Finalists

PKD Award Finalists

2004 News Archive

E-mail Locus Online


News Archives

External Links

Links Portal

Saturday 10 April 2004

Hugo Awards Nominations

Noreascon Four, the 62nd World Science Fiction Convention to be held in Boston, September 2-6, 2004, has released nominations for this year's Hugo Awards, and for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.

  • Blind Lake, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)
  • Humans, Robert J. Sawyer (Tor)
  • Ilium, Dan Simmons (Eos)
  • Paladin of Souls, Lois McMaster Bujold (Eos)
  • Singularity Sky, Charles Stross (Ace)
  • "The Cookie Monster", Vernor Vinge (Analog Oct 2003)
  • "The Empress of Mars", Kage Baker (Asimov's Jul 2003)
  • "The Green Leopard Plague", Walter Jon Williams (Asimov's Oct/Nov 2003)
  • "Just Like the Ones We Used to Know", Connie Willis (Asimov's Dec 2003)
  • "Walk in Silence", Catherine Asaro (Analog Apr 2003)
  • "Bernardo's House", James Patrick Kelly (Asimov's Jun 2003)
  • "The Empire of Ice Cream", Jeffrey Ford (Sci Fiction 02.26.03)
  • "Hexagons", Robert Reed (Asimov's Jul 2003)
  • "Into the Gardens of Sweet Night", Jay Lake (Writers of the Future XIX)
  • "Legions in Time", Michael Swanwick (Asimov's Apr 2003)
  • "Nightfall", Charles Stross (Asimov's Apr 2003)
  • "Four Short Novels", Joe Haldeman (F&SF Oct/Nov 2003)
  • "Paying it Forward", Michael A. Burstein (Analog Sep 2003)
  • "Robots Don't Cry", Mike Resnick (Asimov's Jul 2003)
  • "A Study in Emerald", Neil Gaiman (Shadows Over Baker Street)
  • "The Tale of the Golden Eagle", David D. Levine (F&SF Jun 2003)
  • The Chesley Awards for Science Fiction & Fantasy Art: A Retrospective, John Grant & Elizabeth L. Humphrey with Pamela D. Scoville (Artist's & Photographer's Press Ltd)
  • Dreamer of Dune: The Biography of Frank Herbert, Brian Herbert (Tor)
  • Master Storyteller: An Illustrated Tour of the Fiction of L. Ron Hubbard, William J. Widder (Bridge)
  • Scores: Reviews 19932003, John Clute (Beccon Publications)
  • Spectrum 10: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner, eds. (Underwood Books)
  • The Thackery T. Lambshead Pocket Guide to Eccentric & Discredited Diseases, Jeff VanderMeer & Mark Roberts, eds. (Night Shade Books)
  • 28 Days Later (DNA Films/Fox Searchlight; directed by Danny Boyle; written by Alex Garland)
  • Finding Nemo (Pixar/Walt Disney Pictures; directed by Andrew Stanton & Lee Unkrich; screenplay by Andrew Stanton, Bob Peterson & David Reynolds; story by Andrew Stanton)
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (New Line Cinema; directed by Peter Jackson; screenplay by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson; based on the novel by J.R.R. Tolkien)
  • Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (Walt Disney Pictures; directed by Gore Verbinski; screenplay by Ted Elliott & Terry Rossio; screen story by Ted Elliott, Terry Rossio, Stuart Beattie & Jay Wolpert)
  • X2: X-Men United (20th Century Fox/Marvel; directed by Bryan Singer; screenplay by Michael Dougherty, Dan Harris & David Hayter; story by Zak Penn, David Hayter & Bryan Singer)
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer: "Chosen" (Mutant Enemy Inc./20th Century Fox; written and directed by Joss Whedon)
  • Firefly: "The Message" (Mutant Enemy Inc./20th Century Fox; directed by Tim Minear; written by Joss Whedon & Tim Minear)
  • Firefly: "Heart of Gold" (Mutant Enemy Inc./20th Century Fox; directed by Thomas J. Wright; written by Brett Matthews)
  • Gollum's Acceptance Speech at the 2003 MTV Movie Awards (Wingnut Films/New Line Cinema; written and directed by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson)
  • Smallville: "Rosetta" (Tollin/Robbins Productions/Warner Brothers; directed by James Marshall; written by Al Gough & Miles Millar)
  • Ellen Datlow
  • Gardner Dozois
  • David G. Hartwell
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • Gordon Van Gelder
  • Jim Burns
  • Bob Eggleton
  • Frank Frazetta
  • Frank Kelly Freas
  • Donato Giancola
  • Ansible, David Langford, ed.
  • Interzone, David Pringle, ed.
  • Locus, Charles N. Brown, Jennifer A. Hall & Kirsten Gong-Wong, eds.
  • The New York Review of Science Fiction, Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell & Kevin Maroney, eds.
  • The Third Alternative, Andy Cox, ed.
  • Challenger, Guy H. Lillian III, ed.
  • Emerald City, Cheryl Morgan, ed.
  • File 770, Mike Glyer, ed.
  • Mimosa, Rich & Nicki Lynch, ed.
  • Plokta, Alison Scott, Steve Davies & Mike Scott, eds.
  • Jeff Berkwits
  • Bob Devney
  • John L. Flynn
  • Dave Langford
  • Cheryl Morgan
  • Brad Foster
  • Teddy Harvia
  • Sue Mason
  • Steve Stiles
  • Frank Wu
  • John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer [Not a Hugo]

  • Jay Lake (second year of eligibility)
  • David D. Levine (second year of eligibility)
  • Karin Lowachee (second year of eligibility)
  • Chris Moriarity (first year of eligibility)
  • Tim Pratt (second year of eligibility)

    First time Hugo Award nominees in fiction categories are Jay Lake and David D. Levine; in other categories, Jeff VanderMeer, Mark Roberts, Elizabeth L. Humphrey, Pamela D. Scoville, Brian Herbert, William J. Widder, and Andy Cox receive their first Hugo nominations this year.

    Nominees for Best Novel includes last year's winner, Robert J. Sawyer, while Dan Simmons and Lois McMaster Bujold have also previously won in this category.

    Novella nominee Vernor Vinge has won 3 Hugos, including a win in this category two years ago for "Fast Times at Fairmont High". Connie Willis has won 8 Hugos, including wins in this category in 1989 and 2000. Catherine Asaro, Kage Baker, and Walter Jon Williams have 2, 1, and 4 previous Hugo nominations respectively, but no wins.

    Novelette nominee Michael Swanwick has 19 previous Hugo nominations and 4 wins, including a win in this category last year for "Slow Life". James Patrick Kelly has 5 previous nominations and 2 wins, both in this category in 1996 and 2000. Jeffrey Ford and Robert Reed have 1 and 4 previous nominations respectively.

    Joe Haldeman has 7 previous Hugo nominations and 5 wins, including wins in the short story category in 1977 and 1995. Mike Resnick has 24 previous nominations and 4 wins, including wins in this category in 1989 and 1998. Neil Gaiman has 3 previous nominations and 2 wins, including a win last year for novella Coraline. Michael A. Burstein has 5 previous Hugo nominations.

    Other categories include perennial record holders for both Hugo wins and for the most nominations without ever having won, the latter record being held by David G. Hartwell, with 27 previous nominations, closely followed by Stanley Schmidt with 25. Record winners Charles N. Brown, with 25 Hugos, and David Langford, with 23, are nominated again this year, as are frequent winners Gardner Dozois (14), Frank Kelly Freas (10), Bob Eggleton (8), Mike Glyer (8), and Connie Willis (8).


    Noreascon Four: 2003 Hugo Award Nominees

    Locus Index to SF Awards
      Hugo Awards
        Past winners by Year
        Past finalists and winners

  • TOP  
    © 2004 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. | Subscribe to Locus Magazine | E-mail Locus | Privacy | Advertise