Locus Online

Nebula Finalists

PKD Award Finalists

Stefan Wul dies

British Fantasy Awards

Endeavour Awards

Lloyd Arthur Eshbach dies

World Fantasy Awards

Hal Clement Dies

European Awards

Sunburst Award

Postscripts magazine announced

British Fantasy Awards nominations

Continuum magazine announced

Tachyon Party/Norton Awards

Call for Heinlein Papers

Best New Horror #15

E-mail Locus Online


News Archives

External Links

Links Portal

Other SFFH News sites:
SF Site News
Sci-Fi Wire

Tuesday 12 February 2004

Nebula Awards Final Ballot

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has released the final ballot for this year's Nebula Awards. Winners will be announced at the Nebula Awards banquet in Seattle, Washington, on Saturday, April 17, 2004.

  • Chindi, Jack McDevitt (Ace)
  • Diplomatic Immunity, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)
  • Light Music, Kathleen Ann Goonan (Eos)
  • The Mount, Carol Emshwiller (Small Beer Press)
  • The Salt Roads, Nalo Hopkinson (Warner)
  • The Speed of Dark, Elizabeth Moon (Ballantine)
  • "Breathmoss", Ian R. MacLeod (Asimov's May 2002)
  • Coraline, Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins)
  • "The Empress of Mars", Kage Baker (Asimov's Jul 2003)
  • "The Potter of Bones", Eleanor Arnason (Asimov's Sep 2002)
  • "Stories for Men", John Kessel (Asimov's Oct/Nov 2002)
  • "0wnz0red", Cory Doctorow (Salon Aug 2002)
  • "The Empire of Ice Cream", Jeffrey Ford (Sci Fiction 02.26.03)
  • "The Mask of the Rex", Richard Bowes (F&SF May 2002)
  • "Of a Sweet Slow Dance in the Wake of Temporary Dogs", Adam-Troy Castro (Imaginings)
  • "The Wages of Syntax", Ray Vukcevich (Sci Fiction 10.16.02)
  • "The Brief History of the Dead", Kevin Brockmeier (The New Yorker Sep 8 2003)
  • "Goodbye to All That", Harlan Ellison (McSweeney's Mammoth Treasury of Thrilling Tales)
  • "Grandma", Carol Emshwiller (F&SF Mar 2002)
  • "Knapsack Poems", Eleanor Arnason (Asimov's May 2002)
  • "Lambing Season", Molly Gloss (Asimov's Jul 2002)
  • "The Last of the O-Forms", James Van Pelt (Asimov's Sep 2002)
  • "What I Didn't See", Karen Joy Fowler (Sci Fiction 07.10.02)
  • Finding Nemo, Andrew Stanton, Bob Peterson & David Reynolds
  • Futurama: "Where No Fan Has Gone Before", David A. Goodman
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Stephen Sinclair & Peter Jackson
  • Minority Report, Scott Frank & Jon Cohen
  • Spirited Away, Hayao Miyazaki, Cindy Davis Hewitt & Donald H. Hewitt
  • SFWA's expanded 2003 Nebula Nominees list includes links to online excerpts and content.

    This year's finalists include five of last year's (seven) winners: Carol Emshwiller, who won for short story "Creature"; Neil Gaiman, whose novel American Gods won the Nebula, Hugo, Stoker, and Locus awards; and script collaborators Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, and Peter Jackson, who won for The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring.

    First time Nebula finalists this year include Elizabeth Moon, Kage Baker, Cory Doctorow, Ray Vukcevich, Kevin Brockmeier, Molly Gloss, and James Van Pelt, as well as all of the script nominees except for Hayao Miyazaki (with one previous nomination) and three of the four Two Towers scripters (who won last year).

    Of this year's novel nominees, Lois McMaster Bujold has previously won in this category, for Falling Free in 1989. She also won a Nebula for Best Novella, "The Mountains of Mourning", in 1990, and has 4 other previous nominations. These are Jack McDevitt's 9th Nebula nomination, Kathleen Ann Goonan's 3rd, and Nalo Hopkinson's 2nd; none has ever won. Carol Emshwiller's nominated novel The Mount won the Philip K. Dick Award last year as best paperback published in 2002.

    John Kessel won in the Best Novella category in 1983 for "Another Orphan", and has 6 other previous Nebula nominations. Eleanor Arnason has 3 previous nominations, Ian R. MacLeod 1. Kessel's nominated novella this year, "Stories for Men", won the James Tiptree Jr. Memorial Award in 2003. Gaiman's nominated novella Coraline has won the Hugo, Bram Stoker, Locus, and British SF Association Awards. MacLeod's novella, "Breathmoss", won the Asimov's Readers' Award in 2003.

    None of this year's novelette nominees has won a Nebula. Jeffrey Ford has 2 previous nominations, Richard Bowes 1, and Adam-Troy Castro 3.

    Short Story nominee Harlan Ellison has won 3 Nebulas, twice in this category and once for novella, and has 12 additional prior nominations. Karen Joy Fowler has been nominated 7 times previously.

    See past Nebula finalists and winners for complete details.


    SFWA: 2003 SFWA Nebula AwardsŪ Final Ballot

    Locus Index to SF Awards
      Nebula Awards
        Past winners by Year
        Past finalists and winners

    © 2004 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. | Subscribe to Locus Magazine | E-mail Locus | Privacy | Advertise