Locus Online




August 1998

Hugo and Campbell Awards Winners

The 1998 Hugo Awards were presented Friday, August 7th, at Bucconeer, the World Science Fiction in Baltimore, Maryland, along with the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer.

Hugo Awards

Best Novel
Forever Peace, Joe Haldeman (Ace)

Best Novella
''...Where Angels Fear to Tread'', Allen Steele (Asimov's Oct/Nov 1997)

Best Novelette
''We Will Drink a Fish Together...'', Bill Johnson (Asimov's May 1997)

Best Short Story
''The 43 Antarean Dynasties'', Mike Resnick (Asimov's Dec 1997)

Best Related Book
The Encyclopedia of Fantasy, edited by John Clute and John Grant (Orbit; St. Martin's)

Best Dramatic Presentation

Best Professional Editor
Gardner Dozois

Best Professional Artist
Bob Eggleton

Best Semiprozine
Locus, edited by Charles N. Brown

Best Fanzine
Mimosa, edited by Nicki & Richard Lynch

Best Fan Writer
David Langford

Best Fan Artist
Joe Mayhew

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Science Fiction Writer of 1996-1997
Mary Doria Russell

Complete voting results are here.

(Fri 7 Aug 98)

Sidewise Awards

Winners of the Sidewise Award for Alternate History were announced Friday, August 7th, at Bucconner, the World Science Fiction Convention in Baltimore, Maryland.

special achievement
For Want of a Nail...: If Burgoyne Had Won at Saratoga, Robert J. Sobel (Macmillan 1974; Greenhill 1997)

long form
How Few Remain, Harry Turtledove (Del Rey 1997; Hodder & Stoughton 1998)

short form
''The Undiscovered'', William Sanders (Asimov's March 1997)

The ceremony was attended by Murray Leinster's granddaughter, Beth Richardson. The Sidewise Awards are named after Leinster's 1934 short story ''Sidewise in Time''. Further information:

(Wed 12 Aug 98)

Chesley, Prometheus Awards

Winners of the 13th annual Chesley Awards were presented by the Association of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists on Thursday, August 6th, at Bucconeer, the World Science Fiction Convention in progress this weekend in Baltimore, Maryland. The same afternoon the Libertarian Futurist Society announced this year's winners of its Prometheus Awards.

Chesley Awards
Best Cover Illustration -- Paperback Book
Michael Dashow for The Rhinoceros Who Quoted Nietzsche and other odd acquaintances by Peter S. Beagle (Tachyon)

Best Interior Illustration
Alan Lee for The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien (Houghton Mifflin)

Best Three-Dimensional Art
Clayburn Moore ''Witchblade'' (coldcast porcelain)

Best Cover Illustration -- Magazine
Todd Lockwood for Dragon August 1997

Best Unpublished Illustration -- Monochrome
Joy Marie Ledat for ''Silently Moving People''

Best Unpublished Illustration -- Color
Stephen Hickman for ''The Astronomer Prince'' (private commission)

Best Art Director
Jamie Warren Youll (Bantam Books)

Award for Contribution to ASFA
Janny Wurts

Best Cover Illustration -- Hardback Book
Bob Eggleton for The Howling Stones by Alan Dean Foster (Ballantine Del Rey)

Award for Artistic Achievement
Vincent Di Fate

Prometheus Awards
Prometheus Award
The Stone Canal, Ken MacLeod

Hall of Fame Award
Time Enough for Love, Robert A. Heinlein

(Fri 7 Aug 98)

Previous news page
© 1998 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.