Locus Online
D A V I D    B R I N : Dialog With the Future
(excerpted from Locus Magazine, March 1997)
David Brin pic
    Photo by Beth Gwinn

    other interview excerpts

David Brin is the author of the "Uplift" series, including the novels Startide Rising (1980), winner of the Nebula, Hugo, and Locus awards; The Uplift War, (1987) winner of the Hugo and Locus awards; Brightness Reef (1995), Infinity's Shore (1996), and Heaven's Reach (forthcoming, 1997). His stand-alone novels include The Postman (1985), winner of the Campbell Memorial and Locus awards; Earth (1990), and Glory Season (1993).

"I would normally never set out to write a trilogy. It was not my intent when I began Brightness Reef. The fact that it will stretch into three books is my fault, as evidence of lack of discipline. ... I will outline in the future!"

"...The third book [of the trilogy] will take some people from Jijo and Streaker on a pell-mell ride through some of the more exotic places and features of my universe. We'll meet the hydrogen-breathing civilization, the machine civilization, the civilization of transcended beings -- all sorts of good sci-fi stuff."

"...One of the rules I try to follow is that normal people are going to be involved even in heroic events. Even if you have superior protagonists, I hate to make them slans. I hate the whole ubermensch, superman temptation that pervades science fiction. I believe no protagonist should be so competent, so awe-inspiring, that a committee of 20 really hard-working, intelligent people couldn't do the same thing..."

"...At first, I turned down the offer to do one of the 'Foundation' books... Then Greg Benford pointed out that the best science fiction always involves a conversation with the reader, as well as an author's conversation with him- or herself. ... Isaac himself went through three or four cycles in his attitudes towards power and destiny..."

© 1997 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.