Roswell Award and Tomorrow Prize

Sci-Fest LA, the Los Angeles Science Fiction One-Act Play Festival, has announced a new SF short story contest called the Roswell Award, open to writers 18 and over worldwide. A $1,000 prize will be granted to the best short science fiction story of 1,500 words or fewer. Submission deadline is January 15, 2015.

The festival is also starting the Tomorrow Prize, open to LA county high school students. The submission ...Read More

Read more

2014 Baen Fantasy Adventure Award Winners

Winners of the first annual Baen Fantasy Adventure Awards were announced August 16, 2014, at Gen Con in Indianapolis IN.

Grand Prize:
“The Golden Knight”, K.D. Julicher

First Runnerup:
“Phoenix for the Amateur Chef”, Scott Huggins

Second Runnerup:
“The Girl with No Name”, Travis Heermann

The contest focused on adventure fantasy short stories of 8,000 words or fewer. Baen editors judged the entries, with final entries also judged by Larry ...Read More

Read more

2014 Rita and Golden Heart Awards Winners

The RITA and Golden Heart Awards were presented by the Romance Writers of America at their annual convention in San Antonio. The RITA is presented for best novel, and the Golden Heart is a contest for the best novel by an unpublished novelist. Winners of genre interest include:

RITA for Paranormal Romance:

  • The Firebird, Susanna Kearsley (Sourcebooks Landmark)

Golden Heart for Paranormal Romance:

  • Beyond the Fire, Marni Folsom
...Read More Read more

Baen Memorial Contest Winners

Winners have been announced for the 2014 Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest.

  • Grand Prize: “Low Arc”, Sean Monaghan
  • 2nd Place: “Balance”, Marina J. Lostetter
  • 3rd Place: “Wind Shear”, Angus McIntyre

The winning story will be featured on the Baen Books website and paid professional publication rates. The contest is sponsored by Baen and the National Space Society, and honors stories which explore the promise of space exploration. The winner receives ...Read More

Read more

New Prize for Children’s Writing

Scholastic UK and “luxury writing instruments” company Montegrappa have partnered to create the Montegrappa Scholastic Prize for New Children’s Writing. The contest is open to any unpublished author 18 from the UK or Ireland who has a novel aimed at ages 7-12. Entrants should submit the first 5,000 words of their novel, along with a one-page synopsis and author biography, by June 2, 2014. The winner will receive a publishing ...Read More

Read more

BSFS Amateur Writing Contest

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society (BSFS) announced their BSFS Amateur Writing Contest is open to entries through June 15, 2013. The contest is open to Maryland residents or students at Maryland colleges, and there is no entry fee. First place winner will receive $250, be published in BSFSFan (the Balticon convention guide), and will be invited to read at the con. There are also prizes for 2nd and 3rd place, ...Read More

Read more

Cosmos Magazine Announces New Fiction Competition

Cosmos, an Australian “literary science magazine” that publishes science news in print and online formats, has announced that it is partnering with story-sharing website Circalit to host a short story competition for new writers. Entries will be selected for a shortlist by the magazine’s in-house readers, and then Cosmos editors will select a first-place story to be published in the print magazine, and two runners-up for online publication. Details of ...Read More

Read more to Give Away a Chicon Membership  is giving away a membership — either attending or supporting — to next year’s Worldcon in Chicago (August 30 – September 3, 2012 at the Hyatt Regency Chicago). Enter to win by  visiting the sweepstakes page at and leaving a comment. The giveaway is in part to note the completion of Jo Walton’s series of blog posts revisiting the Hugo Award winners and nominees year by year and ...Read More

Read more

NPR’s Top 100 SF

National Public Radio has released the results of this year’s annual readers’ survey. They invited listeners to choose their favorite SF and fantasy novels (excluding YA, horror, and paranormal romances). More than 5,000 people submitted nominations to produce a list of 237 nominees, and over 60,000 votes were cast to create a list of the “Top 100 Science-Fiction, Fantasy Books.” The top ten results are:

1. The Lord of the ...Read More

Read more

2011 Jim Baen Memorial Contest Winners

Winners have been announced for the 2011 Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest.

  • Grand Prize: “That Undiscovered Country”, Nancy Fulda
  • 2nd Place: “Gemini XVII”, Brad Torgersen
  • 3rd Place: “Natural Selection”, Michael Simon

The winning story will be featured on the Baen Books website and paid the normal professional publication rate. The contest is sponsored by Baen Books and the National Space Society, and honors stories which explore the promise of space ...Read More

Read more

Spectrum 18 Awards

The 2011 Spectrum 18 Awards winners were announced in Kansas City MO, March 12, 2011.


  • Gold: “Narco Americano”, Ryohei Hase (Playboy)
  • Silver: “The Fisherman’s Wife”, Sam Weber (The Society of Illustrators)


  • Gold: “God’s War”, David Palumbo (Night Shade)
  • Silver: “White Trash Zombie”, Dan Dos Santos (DAW)


  • Gold: “A Flight of Angels”, Rebecca Guay (Vertigo/DC Comics)
  • Silver: “Sleep”, David Palumbo (Last Minute Comics)
  • Silver: “Fables 96 Cover”, Joao
...Read More Read more

New Scientist Flash Fiction Contest

The deadline is approaching fast for the New Scientist Forgotten Futures 2010 flash fiction competition. Neil Gaiman will help judge the contest, selecting the winner from a shortlist chosen by New Scientist editors.

Story submissions, on the theme of “futures that never were”, should be a maximum of 350 words, including the title, and may not have been previously published. Entries must be submitted by November 19, 2010.

The winning ...Read More

Read more