About the Awards
Locus Awards


By Year
By Category

Winners and
Complete List by Nominee
Records and Tallies

• Results by Year:

prev <— About Page thread —> next

The Locus Awards are presented to winners of Locus Magazine's annual readers' poll, which was established in the early '70s specifically to provide recommendations and suggestions to Hugo Awards voters. Over the decades the Locus Awards have often drawn more voters than the Hugos and Nebulas combined. In recent years Locus Awards are presented at an annual banquet, and unlike any other award, explicitly honor publishers of winning works with certificates.

Full Name Locus Awards
First year given 1971, for works published in 1970
Who Readers of Locus Magazine
What A plaque of varying design, according to the host convention. Publishers of winning works are presented with certificates.
Where & When Beginning 2006, presentation of the awards moved to the Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame in Seattle.
Scope Works published in the prior calendar year, based on actual publication, not official publication date
Categories Novel (usually split into SF, fantasy/horror, and first novel), short fiction, anthology, collection, nonfiction book, art book, publisher, magazine, artist.
Eligibility period Year prior to award.
Dating convention Year of award.
Issues and controversies Locus publishes a "recommended reading" list in its February issue, when the poll ballot is distributed. Though poll voting is not limited to works on this list, some feel the recommendations are overly influential.
Type poll
Process Readers make up to five ranked nominations per category; votes are tabulated according to the 'Carr' system, awarding a first-place vote 8 points, second-place vote 7 points, etc. The leader in each category is declared the winner. Beginning 2005, the top five finishers in each category were revealed as 'finalists' prior to announcement of the winners at a public event.
Comments This is the official website of the Locus Awards

Copyright 2000-2011 by Mark R. Kelly and Locus Publications. All rights reserved