The Website of The Magazine of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Field
Locus Online

Classic Reprints

Poul Anderson
Glen Cook
Earl Kemp

Ted Chiang
Philip Jose Farmer
Noriki Ogiwara
Melissa Scott
Michael Swanwick

2011 Directories


* Drake, David, & Bill Fawcett, eds. : Battlestations
(Prime Books 978-1-60701-251-1, $14.95, 448pp, trade paperback, 2011, cover art Marco Siegel)

Omnibus of two shared-world military SF anthologies: Battlestation (1992) and Battlestation: Vanguard (1993).
• Authors include David Drake, Mike Resnick, S.M. Stirling, Robert Sheckley, Christopher Stasheff, Mercedes Lackey, Diane Duane, and Katherine Kurtz.

(Thu 31 Mar 2011) • Purchase this book from Amazon | BookSense • (Directory Entry)


* Lansdale, Joe R., ed. : Crucified Dreams
(Tachyon Publications 978-1-61696-003-2, $15.95, 374pp, trade paperback, March 2011)

Anthology of 19 stories of urban horror. The stories were published earlier from 1973 to 2009.
• Authors include Harlan Ellison, Joe Haldeman, Michael Bishop, Octavia E. Butler, Lucius Shepard, Jeffrey Ford, Jonathan Lethem, and Stephen King.
• Tachyon's site has this description with the complete table of contents.
• Amazon has the Publishers Weekly review, which considers the "Tales of Urban Horror" subtitle "misleading" but calls the book "solid", concluding, "Readers who curtail their genre expectations will be better able to appreciate the diverse themes and approaches of these stories, even the ones that don't represent the authors' best work."
• Stefan Dziemianowicz reviewed the book in the March issue of Locus Magazine: "Spanning more than 35 years, and pulled from a wide variety of horror, fantasy, mystery, and science fiction publications, [the stories] reflect a uniform standard of excellence by which any writer would want to measure his own work."

(Wed 6 Apr 2011) • Purchase this book from Amazon | BookSense • (Directory Entry)


* Williamson, Jack : At the Human Limit: The Collected Stories of Jack Williamson, Volume Eight
(Haffner Press 9781893887510, $40, 21+590pp, hardcover, 2011, cover art Ralph McQuarrie)

Collection of 34 stories first published from 1959 to 2008, the final volume in the series collecting the short fiction of SFWA Grand Master Jack Williamson, who died in 2006.
• Connie Willis provides the foreword. There's an afterword by Jack Williamson, followed by a 100+ page Appendix consisting of various essays and articles by Williamson.
• The publisher's site has this description with the table of contents and images of the full-color endpapers.

(Fri 1 Apr 2011) • Purchase this book from Amazon | BookSense • (Directory Entry)


Classic Reprints:
April 2011

posted 14 April 2011

This page lists selected newly published science fiction, fantasy, and horror books seen by Locus Online. (Locus Online does not have access to materials sent to Locus Magazine).

Review copies received will be listed (though reprints and reissues are on other pages), but not galleys or advance reading copies. Selections, some based only on bookstore sightings, are at the discretion of Locus Online.

* = first edition
+ = first US edition

Date with publisher info is official publication month; date in parentheses at paragraph end is date seen or received.

Locus Online is an associate of and Your purchase of books through these links (click on titles or covers) helps support Locus Online.

© 2011 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.