2019 Locus Awards Weekend

Locus Awards, June 28-30, 2019 in Seattle, Washington
Attending memberships are $65 and include the awards banquet and all Locus events except the Writers Workshop, plus a free six-month digital subscription* to Locus. Price increases May 1, 2019, so purchase tickets now!

The weekend includes readings, a kickoff party hosted by Clarion West for instructor Elizabeth Hand (the first of their six summer parties honoring 2019 instructors), panels with leading authors, an autograph session, the lunch banquet, and a Hawaiian shirt plus trivia contest judged by the fabulous Connie Willis, who will MC the ceremony and present the Locus Awards, and more!

*Memberships include a six-month digital subscription to the magazine, from our February 2019 issue (our Year-in-Review issue with Recommended Reading List and Poll & Survey) to August 2019 (with the Locus Awards photo coverage and writeup) and everything in between. (Member subscription is non-transferable and does not affect or extend existing subscriptions.)

Supporting memberships are $30 and include the six-month February to August subscription. Supporting memberships purchased before the price change on May 1 can upgrade at any time (until the event is sold out) to full membership for $35; purchased after May 1, upgrade price is $45.

Locus Awards events will be held at the Executive Inn by the Space Needle (formerly the Best Western Executive Inn) at 200 Taylor Avenue North, Seattle WA 98109, with excellent access to the light rail and trolley systems and directly across the street from the Seattle Center, home to the Museum of Pop Culture, which houses the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame. Special room rates for the Locus Awards are $214, for one or two people, with $15.00 charged per additional adult.

These rates will be applicable from Thursday, June 27 through Sunday, June 30. Please make hotel reservations by May 27, 2019 in order to secure the special room rate.

For hotel reservations, call the direct number at 1 (206) 448-9444 and mention the “Science Fiction Awards 2019”. If you need to book additional days, please e-mail Locus or call us at (510) 339-9196 and we will try to arrange it for you.

Connie Willis, James Patrick Kelly signing; Sally Harding, Karen Lord; Neil Gaiman, Maria Dahvana Headley, Tim Minchin

Locus Writers Workshop

The Locus Writers Workshop will be taking place the same weekend with more details TBA.

Join award-winning authors Connie Willis and Amal El-Mohtar for a two-day intensive writing workshop bookending the Locus Awards weekend!

Additional fees apply and workshop registration is limited.

Click here for more info and ticketing: http://locusmag.com/locus-writers-workshop-2019/

Locus Awards Schedule

Friday, June 28

7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.: Readings with Connie Willis and Amal El-Mohtar.

8:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.: Party hosted by Clarion West for Awards Weekend ticket holders as well as supporters, alumni, and friends of Clarion West, in honor of first week instructor Elizabeth Hand.

Donut Salon with Nancy Kress, Daryl Gregory, Jack Skillingstead; Christopher Barzak, Terry Bisson, Karen Joy Fowler (photo by Leslie Howle); Nisi Shawl, Beth Cato
Saturday, June 29

10:00 a.m. to 10:45 a.m.: Science fiction panel with leading authors TBA.

11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.: Science fiction panel with leading authors TBA.

11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.: Donut Salon with leading authors TBA.

12:00 p.m. to 12:30 p.m.: Autographing session with books available for purchase thanks to University Book Store. Signers TBA.

Tom Whitmore, Kirtana Whistler; Ted Chiang, Mary Robinette Kowal; Dominica Phetteplace, Erin Cashier aka Cassie Alexander; Astrid Anderson Bear & Greg Bear

12:45 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.: Locus Awards Lunch Banquet and Ceremony at the Best Western Executive Inn with M.C. Connie Willis, who will present the awards and judge a Hawaiian shirt plus trivia contest.

8:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.: Locus Party! Conversation, appetizers, and a cash bar.

Schedule is subject to change without notice. Don’t forget to wear your most colorful Hawaiian or SFnal shirt to the Locus Awards!

Hawaiian shirt trivia contest participants; Hand-painted tentacle galaxy shirts by Gayathri Kamath, Clarissa C.S. Ryan, and Clint Ryan

Locus Supports Inclusivity!

Thinking of attending? Please do. We encourage people of color, women, people with disabilities, older people, and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people to attend. We welcome people of any gender identity or expression, ethnicity, race, sexual orientation, age, size, nationality, religion, culture, education level, and self-identification.

Locus associate editor Arley Sorg will serve as our PoC/LGBTQQIA Ombudsman. He will be on-site for questions, concerns, conversations, and more. Feel free to reach out to him in advance at locus@locusmag.com subject: Arley Ombudsman. There are also plans for a PoC safe space.

Sponsored Memberships:

Are you a PoC thinking about attending the Locus Awards weekend? We encourage inclusivity!

Locus has several sponsored memberships for PoC who may not otherwise attend the Locus Awards. Memberships include admission to many weekend events: readings, a kickoff party, panels, an autograph session, the banquet, and the awards. Memberships do not include admission to the Writers Workshop (which is ticketed separately). Hotel and transport are not included. Nisi Shawl will select recipients.

Application for these sponsored memberships can be found here and will be accepted through May 31, 2019. Application is confidential: details of applications will remain exclusively with Locus and Nisi Shawl. Applications are open to anyone who is a person of color/non-white person. By applying, you agree that your application statements are accurate and that you are a person of color/non-white person.


Norwescon is the Pacific Northwest’s Premier Fantasy and Science Fiction Convention and one of the largest regional Science Fiction and Fantasy conventions in the United States, next held April 18-21, 2019 at SeaTac WA. More details about Norwescon can be found at www.norwescon.org.