2018 Hugo and Campbell Awards Winners

Winners for the Hugo Awards and for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer were announced by Worldcon 76, the 76th World Science Fiction Convention, on Sunday August 19, 2018 during a ceremony held at the San Jose McEnery Convention Center in San Jose CA:

Best Novel

Best Novella

Best Novelette

Best Short Story

Best Related Work

Best Graphic Story

Best Dramatic Presentation — Long

  • WINNER: Wonder Woman
  • Blade Runner 2049
  • Get Out
  • The Shape of Water
  • Star Wars: The Last Jedi
  • Thor: Ragnarok

Best Dramatic Presentation — Short

  • WINNER: The Good Place: “The Trolley Problem”
  • Black Mirror: “USS Callister”
  • “The Deep”, Clipping
  • Doctor Who: “Twice Upon a Time”
  • The Good Place: “Michael’s Gambit”
  • Star Trek: Discovery: “Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad”

Best Editor Short Form

  • WINNER: Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas
  • John Joseph Adams
  • Neil Clarke
  • Lee Harris
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Sheila Williams

Best Editor Long Form

  • WINNER: Sheila E. Gilbert
  • Joe Monti
  • Devi Pillai
  • Diana M. Pho
  • Miriam Weinberg
  • Navah Wolfe

Best Professional Artist

  • WINNER: Sana Takeda
  • Galen Dara
  • Bastien Lecouffe Deharme
  • Kathleen Jennings
  • Victo Ngai
  • John Picacio

Best Semiprozine

  • WINNER: Uncanny
  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • The Book Smugglers
  • Escape Pod
  • Fireside
  • Strange Horizons

Best Fanzine

  • WINNER: File 770
  • Galactic Journey
  • Journey Planet
  • nerds of a feather, flock together
  • Rocket Stack Rank
  • SF Bluestocking

Best Fancast

  • WINNER: Ditch Diggers
  • The Coode Street Podcast
  • Fangirl Happy Hour
  • Galactic Suburbia
  • Sword and Laser
  • Verity!

Best Fan Writer

  • WINNER: Sarah Gailey
  • Camestros Felapton
  • Mike Glyer
  • Foz Meadows
  • Charles Payseur
  • Bogi Takács

Best Fan Artist

  • WINNER: Geneva Benton
  • Grace P. Fong
  • Maya Hahto
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Likhain (M. Sereno)
  • Steve Stiles

Best Series

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer [Not a Hugo Award]

  • WINNER: Rebecca Roanhorse
  • Katherine Arden
  • *Sarah Kuhn
  • Jeannette Ng
  • Vina Jie-Min Prasad
  • Rivers Solomon

* Finalists in their 2nd year of eligibility.

The World Science Fiction Society (WSFS) Award for Best Young Adult Book [Not a Hugo Award]

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy


Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

While you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

One thought on “2018 Hugo and Campbell Awards Winners

  • September 5, 2018 at 2:59 am

    I went to the Worldcon in San Jose this year.
    I inquired as to why for Best Dramatic Presentation — Short … The Expanse did not get a nomination.
    Did not get an answer. Mostly found fans of the show.
    I still passes beyond understanding.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *