2018 Rhysling Award Winners

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Poetry Association (SFPA) has announced the winners of the annual Rhysling Awards for SF, fantasy, and horror poetry in short and long form categories. This year’s winners are:


First Place
“Advice to a Six-Year-Old”, Mary Soon Lee (Star*Line 40.2)

Second Place
“How to Grieve: A Primer for Witches”, Sara Cleto (Mythic Delirium 5/17)

Third Place
“Gramarye”, F.J. Bergmann (Polu Texni 12/26/17)


First Place
“The Mushroom Hunters”, Neil Gaiman (Brainpickings 4/26/17)

Second Place
“For Preserves”, Cassandra Rose Clarke (Star*Line 40.4)

Third Place
“Alternate Genders”, Mary Soon Lee (Mithila Review #9)

Poems are chosen by the membership of the SFPA, who vote on a list of nominations made by individual members, and published in the Rhysling anthology. Winners are often reprinted in the annual Nebula Awards anthology. The Rhysling Awards will be presented at Diversicon 26 held July 27-29, 2018 at the Best Western Plus Como Park Hotel in St. Paul MN.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyWhile you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *