Machado Wins Crawford Award

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction FantasyThe winner of the 2018 Crawford Award, presented annually by the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts (IAFA) for a first book of fantasy fiction, is Her Body and Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado (Graywolf).

The Crawford shortlist includes:

Participating at various stages of this year’s nomination and selection process were previous Crawford winners Jedediah Berry, Candas Jane Dorsey, and Daryl Gregory, as well as Liz Bourke, Ellen Klages, Farah Mendlesohn, Cheryl Morgan, Graham Sleight, and Liza Groen Trombi. The award will be presented on March 17, 2018 during the 39th International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts at the Orlando Airport Marriott Lakeside in Orlando FL.

Also at the conference, the IAFA’s Distinguished Scholarship Award will be presented to Fred Botting, and the Jamie Bishop Memorial Award for a work of scholarship written in a language other than English will go to Guangyi Li. The Walter James Miller Memorial Award, for a student paper on a work or works of the fantastic originally created in a language other than English, will be presented to Peter Adrian Behravesh. The winner of IAFA’s award for an outstanding student paper, formerly called the Graduate Student Award but rechristened in 2016 as the David G. Hartwell Emerging Scholar Award, will be announced at the banquet.

For more information, see the IAFA website.

Locus Magazine, Science Fiction Fantasy

While you are here, please take a moment to support Locus with a one-time or recurring donation. We rely on reader donations to keep the magazine and site going, and would like to keep the site paywall free, but WE NEED YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT to continue quality coverage of the science fiction and fantasy field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *