2009 Robert A. Heinlein Award Winners

Joe Haldeman and John Varley are the winners of the Robert A. Heinlein Award for 2009. The award is for “outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings to inspire the human exploration of space.” Winners are selected by a committee of science fiction authors chaired by Robert Heinlein’s friend Dr. Yoji Kondo. Members of the committee were originally selected by Mrs. Virginia Heinlein. The award prize consists of a wall plaque certificate, large sterling silver medallion, and lapel pin, each featuring the likeness of Robert Heinlein as rendered by Arlin Robbins. Virginia Heinlein authorized multiple awards in memory of her husband. The Robert A. Heinlein Award is supported by independent donations from the public. The Baltimore Science Fiction Society provides logistical support for the award, including processing of donations and manufacture of award materials, and maintains a list of past winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *