Locus Online

NEWS : Awards


17 September 2008

Sunburst Awards Winners

Winners of this year's Sunburst Awards, for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic, have been announced. The awards go to a speculative fiction novel or book-length collection published in previous calendar year. This year the awards are given in two categories: adult novel, and young adult novel.

The Sunburst Awards website has comments from the jury -- Timothy Anderson, Kelley Armstrong, Barbara Haworth-Attard, Dena Taylor and Robert Wiersema -- about the winning works. Winners and finalists are:

  • The New Moon's Arms, Nalo Hopkinson (Warner)
  • Axis, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)
  • Darkness of the God, Amber Hayward (Edge)
  • Double-blind, Michelle Butler Hallett (Killick Press)
  • Wonderfull, William Neil Scott (NeWest Press)

  • Anthem of a Reluctant Prophet, Joanne Proulx (Viking Canada)
  • Choices, Deborah Lynn Jacobs (Roaring Brook)
  • Darkwing, Kenneth Oppel (HarperCollins Canada)
  • The Night Wanderer: A Native Gothic Novel, Drew Hayden Taylor (Annick Press)
  • Retribution, Carrie Mac (Puffin Canada)
  • © 2008 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.