Locus Online

NEWS : Awards


22 November 2008

Endeavour Award winner

Brenda Cooper's The Silver Ship and the Sea, published by Tor Books, is winner of this year's Endeavour Award, which honors a distinguished science fiction or fantasy book, either a novel or a single-author collection, created by a writer living in the Pacific Northwest.

The award was announced last night at OryCon, Oregon's major science fiction convention. The award includes an honorarium of $1,000 and an engraved glass plaque.

Other finalists are listed below. Judges for the 2008 Award were Ellen Asher, Steven Barnes, and Russell Davis. Steven Barnes presented the Award.

  • The Silver Ship and the Sea, Brenda Cooper
  • The Book of Joby, Mark J. Ferrari
  • Bright of the Sky, Kay Kenyon
  • Not Flesh Nor Feathers, Cherie Priest
  • Powers, Ursula K. Le Guin

  • © 2008 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.