Locus Online
Friday 21 March 2008

Hugo and Campbell Nominees

Nominees for this year's Hugo Awards and the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer were released late Thursday by Denvention 3, the 66th World Science Fiction Convention, to be held in Denver August 6-10, 2008.

The listing here is alphabetical by title within a category, then nominee. The list posted by Denvention includes examples of works by the artist and editor nominees, though the nominations are not specifically for those works, as well as the number of ballots received in each category.

  • Brasyl, Ian McDonald (Gollancz; Pyr)
  • Halting State, Charles Stross (Ace)
  • The Last Colony, John Scalzi (Tor)
  • Rollback, Robert J. Sawyer (Analog Oct 2006 - Jan/Feb 2007; Tor)
  • The Yiddish Policemen's Union, Michael Chabon (HarperCollins; Fourth Estate)
  • "All Seated on the Ground", Connie Willis (Asimov's Dec 2007; Subterranean Press)
  • "The Fountain of Age", Nancy Kress (Asimov's Jul 2007)
  • "Memorare", Gene Wolfe (F&SF Apr 2007)
  • "Recovering Apollo 8", Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Asimov's Feb 2007)
  • "Stars Seen Through Stone", Lucius Shepard (F&SF Jul 2007)
  • "The Cambist and Lord Iron: a Fairytale of Economics", Daniel Abraham (Logorrhea, ed John Klima, Bantam)
  • "Dark Integers", Greg Egan (Asimov's Oct/Nov 2007)
  • "Finisterra", David Moles (F&SF Dec 2007)
  • "Glory", Greg Egan (The New Space Opera, ed Gardner Dozois & Jonathan Strahan, Eos)
  • "The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate", Ted Chiang (F&SF Sep 2007)
  • "Distant Replay", Mike Resnick (Asimov's Apr/May 2007)
  • "Last Contact", Stephen Baxter (The Solaris Book of Science Fiction, ed George Mann, Solaris Books)
  • "A Small Room in Koboldtown", Michael Swanwick (Asimov's Apr/May 2007; The Dog Said Bow-Wow Tachyon Publications)
  • "Tideline", Elizabeth Bear (Asimov's Jun 2007)
  • "Who's Afraid of Wolf 359?", Ken MacLeod (The New Space Opera, ed Gardner Dozois & Jonathan Strahan, Eos)
  • The Arrival, Shaun Tan (Scholastic/Arthur A. Levine)
  • Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction, Jeff Prucher (Oxford University Press)
  • Breakfast in the Ruins: Science Fiction in the Last Millennium, Barry N. Malzberg (Baen)
  • The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community, Diana Glyer (Kent State University Press)
  • Emshwiller: Infinity x Two, Luis Ortiz (Nonstop)
  • Enchanted (Written by Bill Kelly. Directed by Kevin Lima. Walt Disney Pictures)
  • The Golden Compass (Written by Chris Weitz, based on the novel by Philip Pullman. Directed by Chris Weitz. New Line Cinema)
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Written by Michael Goldenberg, based on the novel by J.K. Rowling. Directed by David Yates. Warner Bros. Pictures)
  • Heroes, Season 1 (Created by Tim Kring. NBC Universal Television and Tailwind Productions)
  • Stardust (Written by Jane Goldman & Matthew Vaughn, based on the novel by Neil Gaiman. Directed by Matthew Vaughn. Paramount Pictures)
  • Battlestar Galactica: "Razor" (Written by Michael Taylor. Directed by Félix Enríquez Alcalá and Wayne Rose. Sci Fi Channel. [televised version, not DVD])
  • Doctor Who: "Blink" (Written by Stephen Moffat. Directed by Hettie Macdonald. BBC)
  • Doctor Who: "Human Nature"; "The Family of Blood" (Written by Paul Cornell. Directed by Charles Palmer. BBC)
  • Star Trek New Voyages: "World Enough and Time" (Written by Michael Reaves & Marc Scott Zicree. Directed by Marc Scott Zicree. Cawley Entertainment Co. and The Magic Time Co.)
  • Torchwood: "Captain Jack Harkness" (Written by Catherine Tregenna. Directed by Ashley Way. BBC Wales)
  • Ellen Datlow
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Gordon Van Gelder
  • Sheila Williams
  • Lou Anders
  • Ginjer Buchanan
  • David G. Hartwell
  • Beth Meacham
  • Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • Bob Eggleton
  • Phil Foglio
  • John Harris
  • Stephan Martiniere
  • John Picacio
  • Shaun Tan
  • Ansible, Dave Langford
  • Helix, William Sanders & Lawrence Watt-Evans
  • Interzone, Andy Cox
  • Locus, Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong & Liza Groen Trombi
  • The New York Review of Science Fiction, Kathryn Cramer, Kristine Dikeman, David G. Hartwell & Kevin J. Maroney
  • Argentus, Steven H Silver
  • Challenger, Guy Lillian III
  • Drink Tank, Chris Garcia
  • File 770, Mike Glyer
  • Plokta, Alison Scott, Steve Davies & Mike Scott
  • Chris Garcia
  • Dave Langford
  • Cheryl Morgan
  • John Scalzi
  • Steven H Silver
  • Brad Foster
  • Teddy Harvia
  • Sue Mason
  • Steve Stiles
  • Taral Wayne
  • John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Not a Hugo)

  • Joe Abercrombie (second year of eligibility)
  • Jon Armstrong (first year of eligibility)
  • David Anthony Durham (first year of eligibility)
  • David Louis Edelman (second year of eligibility)
  • Mary Robinette Kowal (second year of eligibility)
  • Scott Lynch (second year of eligibility)

    This year's Hugo finalists include first-time nominations for Michael Chabon, Daniel Abraham, David Moles, and Elizabeth Bear in the fiction categories; artists Shaun Tan and John Harris; editor Jonathan Strahan; and four of the five Best Related Book nominees: Shaun Tan, Jeff Prucher, Diana Glyer, and Luis Ortiz.

    Three of the Best Novel nominees are previous Hugo winners, though only Robert J. Sawyer has won in this category, for Hominids in 2003. Ian McDonald has 3 previous Hugo nominations and won last year in the novelette category for "The Djinn's Wife". Charles Stross has 9 previous nominations -- including 4 previous consecutive Best Novel nominations -- and won in 2005 for novella "The Concrete Jungle".

    Of the Best Novella nominees, all have previous nominations but Gene Wolfe is the only one to have never won a Hugo. He has 8 previous nominations, most recently in 1998 for "No Planets Strike" in the Short Story category. Connie Willis has 22 previous nominations and 8 Hugo wins, including last year in this category for "Inside Job".

    Of the Best Novelette nominees, both Greg Egan and Ted Chiang have won Hugos, Egan for novella "Oceanic" in 1999 and Chiang for "Hell Is the Absence of God" in this category in 2002.

    Short Story nominees Mike Resnick and Michael Swanwick are multiple Hugo-winners, Resnick most recently in this category for "Travels with My Cats" in 2005, Swanwick with consecutive Novelette wins in 2003 and 2004. Stephen Baxter has 5 previous nominations, but has never won a Hugo; Ken MacLeod has 3 previous nominations, and has never won a Hugo.

    Best Related Book nominee Barry N. Malzberg has 3 previous nominations, including one for The Engines of the Night in 1983 which forms the first half of this year's nominated book Breakfast in the Ruins. All other nominees in this category are first-time nominees.

  •   TOP
    © 2008 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.