Locus Online
Saturday 17 June 2006

Locus Awards Winners

Winners of this year's Locus Awards, voted by readers of Locus Magazine in the annual Locus Poll, were were announced this afternoon at the Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame in Seattle.

Best Science Fiction Novel

Accelerando, Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit)

Best Fantasy Novel

Anansi Boys, Neil Gaiman (Morrow; Review)

Best First Novel

Hammered/Scardown/Worldwired, Elizabeth Bear (Bantam Spectra)

Best Young Adult Book

Pay the Piper, Jane Yolen & Adam Stemple (Starscape)

Best Novella

"Magic for Beginners", Kelly Link (Magic for Beginners, F&SF 9/05)

Best Novelette

"I, Robot", Cory Doctorow (The Infinite Matrix, 2/15/05)

Best Short Story

"Sunbird", Neil Gaiman (Noisy Outlaws etc.)

Best Magazine

The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction

Best Publisher


Best Anthology

The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Eighteenth Annual Collection, Ellen Datlow, Kelly Link & Gavin Grant, eds. (St. Martin's)

Best Collection

Magic for Beginners, Kelly Link (Small Beer Press)

Best Editor

Ellen Datlow

Best Artist

Michael Whelan

Best Non-Fiction

Storyteller: Writing Lessons and More from 27 Years of the Clarion Writers’ Workshop, Kate Wilhelm (Small Beer Press)

Best Art Book

Cathy & Arnie Fenner, eds. Spectrum 12: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art (Underwood)

This year's ceremony was held as part of the Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame's 2006 Induction Weekend. The Locus Awards event was split into two parts: a brunch at the Courtyard Marriott Hotel for Locus invitees and ticketholders, during which Connie Willis hosted an impromptu Hawaiian shirt competition, and an awards ceremony later in the day at the SF Museum, with Connie Willis again MC'ing the event, announcing the winners and handing out Locus Awards plaques and publisher certificates. Winners in attendance were Kate Wilhelm, Neil Gaiman, Adam Stemple, and Michael Whelan, while David G. Hartwell accepted for Tor Books, and Eileen Gunn and Gardner Dozois accepted for several of the absent winners.

This year's results include the 26th Locus Award for Michael Whelan, and the 19th Locus Award (all consecutive, since 1988) for Tor Books.

The evening Hall of Fame Induction ceremony was led by Master of Ceremonies Neil Gaiman, who introduced speakers and accepters for the four previously-announced 2006 inductees: Frank Kelly Freas, introduced by Michael Whelan and accepted by Laura Freas; Frank Herbert, introduced by Kevin J. Anderson and accepted by Brian Herbert; George Lucas, introduced by Greg Bear and accepted by Lucas animation director Rob Coleman; and Anne McCaffrey, introduced by Elizabeth Ann Scarborough and accepted by herself.

Complete results of the Locus Poll will be published in the July issue of Locus Magazine, and will be incorporated into the Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards at the end of the year.

© 2006 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.