Locus Online
Friday 24 June 2005

Campbell Award Finalists

Finalists have been announced for this year's John W. Campbell Memorial Award, given annually to the best SF novel published in the US. The winner will be announced at this year's Campbell Conference, held July 7-10, 2005, in Lawrence, Kansas.

  • Air, Geoff Ryman (St. Martin's Griffin)
  • The Boy Who Would Live Forever, Frederik Pohl (Tor)
  • The Child Goddess, Louise Marley (Ace)
  • City of Pearl, Karen Traviss (HarperCollins/Eos)
  • Gaudeamus, John Barnes (Tor)
  • Market Forces, Richard K. Morgan (Gollancz; Ballantine Del Rey 2005)
  • Newton's Wake, Ken MacLeod (Orbit; Tor)
  • The Plot Against America, Philip Roth (Houghton Mifflin)
  • The Rebel, Jack Dann (HarperCollins/Morrow)
  • The Time Traveler's Wife, Audrey Niffenegger (MacAdam/Cage 2003; Jonathan Cape 2004)
  • The Well of Stars, Robert Reed (Orbit; Tor 2005)
  • White Devils, Paul McAuley (Simon & Schuster UK; Tor)
  • Novels were published in 2004 unless otherwise indicated, and include no books in common with this year's Hugo or Nebula nominees -- though several of those, being fantasy, would not have been considered for the Campbell Award, and one of 2005's Nebula nominees, Jack McDevitt's Omega, won the Campbell Award last year. Campbell jurors include Gregory Benford, Paul Carter, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Chris McKitterick, Farah Mendlesohn, Pamela Sargent, Tom Shippey, and chair James Gunn.
    © 2005 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.