Locus Online
Saturday 30 April 2005

Nebula Awards Winners

Standing: Steven H Silver (for The Return of the King); Gardner Dozois (for Walter Jon Williams); Kevin O'Donnell, Jr.; Lois McMaster Bujold; Eileen Gunn; Ellen Klages; front: Todd McCaffrey, Anne McCaffrey. Photo by Liza Trombi.

Winners of the 2004 Nebula Awards were announced at a banquet Saturday evening, April 30, in Chicago, Illinois.

  • Paladin of Souls, Lois McMaster Bujold (Eos)
  • "The Green Leopard Plague", Walter Jon Williams (Asimov's Oct/Nov 2003)
  • "Basement Magic", Ellen Klages (F&SF May 2003)
  • "Coming to Terms", Eileen Gunn (Stable Strategies and Others)
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson (New Line Cinema)
  • Other awards, as previously announced, were presented: the Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award was given to Anne McCaffrey, and the Service to SFWA Award was presented to Kevin O'Donnell, Jr. Both were present to accept their awards.

    All winners were present except for Walter Jon Williams, whose award was accepted by Gardner Dozois, and The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King scripters, whose award was accepted by Steven H Silver.

    Next year's Nebula Awards banquet will be held in Tempe, Arizona.

    © 2005 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.