Locus Online

page 8
page 7
page 6
page 5
page 4
page 3
page 2
page 1

E-mail Locus Online


News Log archives


Page 3: Columbia
Page 2
Page 1




External Links

Links Portal

Other SFFH News sites:
SF Site News
Sci-Fi Wire

Wednesday 23 April 2003


Winners of Analog Science Fiction and Factís AnLab Awards and Asimovís Science Fictionís Readersí Awards were announced April 19, 2003, at a breakfast celebration held during the 2003 Nebula Awards weekend in Philadelphia, PA.

AnLab Winners

NOVELLA : "In Spirit", Pat Forde (Analog Sep 2002)
NOVELETTE : "Look Away", Stephen L. Burns (Analog May 2002)
SHORT STORY : "The Hunters of Pangaea", Stephen Baxter (Analog Dec 2002)
FACT ARTICLE : "Galactic Society", Robert Zubrin (Analog Apr 2002)
COVER : David A. Hardy

Asimov's Readers' Award Winners

NOVELLA : "Breathmoss", Ian R. MacLeod (Asimov's May 2002)
NOVELETTE : "The Wild Girls", Ursula K. Le Guin (Asimov's Mar 2002)
SHORT STORY : "She Sees My Monsters Now", Robert Reed (Asimov's Jun 2002)
POEM : "Eight Things Not to Do or Say When a Mad Scientist Moves into Your Neighborhood", Bruce Boston (Asimov's Jul 2002)
COVER ARTIST : Dominic Harman
INTERIOR ARTIST : Michael Carroll

Results are determined by a poll of each magazine's readers. At the breakfast ceremony in Philadelphia, Stanley Schmidt presented the only AnLab winner present, Pat Forde, his winning certificate and check. No Asimov's winners were able to attend; a separate ceremony may be held for them at a later date.

The Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards lists and indexes earlier AnLab and Asimov's results.

Seiun Nominees

Nominations in the translation categories for this year's Seiun Awards are listed below. The winners will be announced at the 42nd Japan National Science Fiction Convention, July 19-21, 2003, with the awards re-presented at Torcon 3 in Toronto.

  • Cryptonomicon, Neal Stephenson
  • Davy, Edgar Pangborn
  • A Deepness in the Sky, Vernor Vinge
  • Freeware, Rudy Rucker
  • Gloriana, Michael Moorcock
  • Illegal Alien, Robert J. Sawyer
  • Passage, Connie Willis
  • The Reefs of Earth, R. A. Lafferty
  • The Telling, Ursula K. Le Guin
  • Thraxas, Martin Scott
  • "Different Kinds of Darkness", David Langford
  • "Funnyfingers", R. A. Lafferty
  • "Luminous", Greg Egan
  • "A Map of the Mines of Barnath", Sean Williams
  • "Partial Eclipse", Graham Joyce
  • "Pilot", Stephen Baxter
  • "Seventy-Two Letters", Ted Chiang
  • "A Spy in Europa", Alastair Reynolds
  • "What Continues, What Fails...", David Brin
  • Additional information (in Japanese) is available at

    The Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards lists and indexes earlier Seiun results.

    Previous April News

    © 2003 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. | Subscribe to Locus Magazine | E-mail Locus | Privacy | Advertise